A Year Starting with Fireworks!


Just over a week ago, I posted about A Scary New Resolution… to start running!

It is time for an update and I’m really happy because things are going really well!

I have completed Week 1 of the NHS Couch to 5K programme after three runs in a week. The suprising thing is that I actually found the training relatively easy and felt like I could have done more. But I decided to stick with the plan and increase the amount of running gradually as the programme envisages, to avoid hurting myself (most important things!) or getting disappointed with my fitness level too soon.

I must confess that on the third day of running, I was fed up of listening to the same podcast and decided to skip to the second week’s podcast. After only five minutes, I realised it was something rather stupid: at least for one week I had to keep to the plan! Plus it would not be healthy to skip a training and go on to the next level without being prepared for it, right? So I went back to the first podcast!

The new trainers are good for running, although I’m still getting used to them. I have also received the arm band for my MP3 that I bought online, but I have yet to try it out.

Another great news is that in the last ten days I have lost 2.5 kg! I am making a big effort to eat more carefully and to be more active, but I am still surprised by how much weight I have lost! I’m not going to rejoice until I have lost a bit more and reached a stable weight.

This year has started well also in another respect: I have made a point about relaxing myself and having fun more often! Yesterday I had a 30 minutes-long hot bath and that was really bliss! I will do it more often!

By the way, the blog has almost reached 2000 visits since opening in August 2010!!! Thank you!!! When I started I wrote My First Blog Ever and I remember how excited I was about this new goal…and I have really enjoyed it so far so I hope to improve and expand my blog over time. I leave you with a song that really ignites me!

Katy Perry – Firework

LYRICS

Do you ever feel like a plastic bag,
Drifting through the wind
Wanting to start again?
Do you ever feel, feel so paper thin
Like a house of cards,
One blow from caving in?

Do you ever feel already buried deep?
Six feet under screams but no one seems to hear a thing
Do you know that there’s still a chance for you
‘Cause there’s a spark in you

You just gotta ignite, the light, and let it shine
Just own the night like the fourth of July

‘Cause baby you’re a firework
Come on, show ’em what you’re worth
Make ’em go “Oh, oh, oh”
As you shoot across the sky-y-y

Baby, you’re a firework
Come on, let your colors burst
Make ’em go “Oh, oh, oh”
You’re gonna leave ’em falling down-own-own

You don’t have to feel like a waste of space
You’re original, cannot be replaced
If you only knew what the future holds
After a hurricane comes a rainbow

Maybe your reason why all the doors are closed
So you could open one that leads you to the perfect road
Like a lightning bolt, your heart will blow
And when it’s time, you’ll know

You just gotta ignite, the light, and let it shine
Just own the night like the 4th of July

‘Cause baby you’re a firework
Come on, show ’em what you’re worth
Make ’em go “Oh, oh, oh”
As you shoot across the sky-y-y

Baby, you’re a firework
Come on, let your colors burst
Make ’em go “Oh, Oh, Oh”
You’re gonna leave ’em falling down-own-own

Boom, boom, boom
Even brighter than the moon, moon, moon
It’s always been inside of you, you, you
And now it’s time to let it through-ough-ough

‘Cause baby you’re a firework
Come on, show ’em what you’re worth
Make ’em go “Oh, Oh, Oh”
As you shoot across the sky-y-y

Baby, you’re a firework
Come on, let your colors burst
Make ’em go “Oh, Oh, Oh”
You’re gonna leave ’em falling down-own-own

Boom, boom, boom
Even brighter than the moon, moon, moon
Boom, boom, boom
Even brighter than the moon, moon, moon

10 thoughts on “A Year Starting with Fireworks!

  1. Congratulations on everything! Looks like the running is off to a good start so good luck on the rest of the training program 🙂
    And 2000 views is a good way to celebrate the new year too, I’m sure you’ll get many many more in 2011.

  2. UGH! Running! God, I can’t think of anything I’d rather not do! I mean, I’m hardly very active, but at least with sports, like soccer, you are running for a reason (ie. get to the ball, score a goal, etc.) but running just for the sake of running… no thanks!

    That being said, it IS a great way to stay fit! Congrats on sticking to your resolution, and while you’re at it, could you please loose about 15 kilos for me too! 😛

    • Ciao Garrett! 🙂 Nice to see you stopping by again!
      You know, I always thought precisely the same as you do …i.e. running is not fun. I’m not saying I now love it…but it’s really the best option for me considering I want to save time and money! The great thing about running, I think, is that it’s a flexible sport: you can do it for half an hour or an hour depending on how much time you have on your hands – and you can go earlier or later without any problems. So it’s kind of good for someone lazy like me!

  3. You should get the book Born to Run by Christoper McDougall. It will make you wanna run more. Really inspiring book.

    my resolution has been to floss every day.. and I haven’t been slacking!

  4. Pingback: What Happened to Running? | Little Explorer's Blog

Leave a comment