A Scary New Resolution


(Picture from NHS Couch to 5K webpage)

Today I will be writing about a very unusual topic of discussion for me: fitness.

Why unusual? First, because I don’t find it particularly interesting and, secondly, because I am not a great fan of sport. I’d much rather spend my time discussing, reading and thinking about current affairs, travelling or philosophy just to mention some example. I simply do not enjoy sports. I guess I could say I’m rather lazy!

In addition, I don’t want to turn into yet another one of those bloggers following the ‘crowd’ of fitness-obsessed bloggers. I really don’t intend to turn running into my main life aim nor do I intend to make myself feel bad for comparing my perhaps ridiculously easy goal with other people’s.  I am not interested in running marathons or competing, this is all just about myself and my own wellbeing.

So, why am I now blogging about fitness? For quite a while I have been wanting to lose some weight and become a bit fitter. I’m not aiming to radically change my lifestyle as my focus in life is not fitness. I really am not overweight at all, however I am aware of being unfit and of how much better I would feel with a couple of kg less.

I want to be more active. I don’t care exactly how this will happen, but my starting point is to write about this on my blog – just so that my resolution doesn’t die off by tomorrow! I will try to keep some sort of diary to make myself accountable of my weekly physical activity. For today, I have discovered a UK NHS plan for running up to 5 Kilometers (3.1 Miles) after 9 weeks. This is the web page: http://www.nhs.uk/Livewell/c25k/Pages/get-running-with-couch-to-5k.aspx. I have listened to parts of the NHS podcasts and decided I liked them, so I have downloaded them to my computer. They sound reasonable and progressive. I like the idea of having a sort of ‘personal trainer’ who guides you during your workout without having the hassle or the expense of a ‘real’ one.

My next step will be to sort out my shoes and MP3 player (I might buy an i Pod), and next week I’m planning to start this program. I am a bit (actually, very!) scared of giving up even before starting (I know myself well) and finding all possible excuses to avoid running – as I know how embarrassed I feel! I also know this will be a massive effort considering how busy my weeks are while working and studying both full time. But I also know this is a reasonable goal and that I would feel very proud of myself if I were able to achieve it!

Now it’s time to go to the gym for a workout before starting the program next week!

9 thoughts on “A Scary New Resolution

  1. Good news! Yesterday I did work out for about 3/4 h and I was running for most of the time, slowing down for some brisk walking every now and then – like the Couch to 5K programme suggests. Today, I bought a new pair of trainers for running. So no more excuses left!

  2. Thanks for your inspiring post – I have decided to get serious about getting fit too and will download the NHS program. I also joined the YMCA. Heavy snow outside so it helps to have somewhere to go inside. I will be following your blog!

  3. Pingback: A Year Starting with Fireworks! | Little Explorer's Blog

  4. Pingback: What Happened to Running? | Little Explorer's Blog

  5. Pingback: “Mens Sana in Corpore Sano” | Little Explorer's Blog

  6. Pingback: Domeniche Blu, n° 6: nati per correre | La Penna Blu

Leave a Reply

