What Happened to Running?


Photograph I took at the Botanic Gardens in Copenhagen.

I never felt I had to explain my personal life on my blog, however I posted some time ago about my scary new year resolution of starting to run. Well, turns out the plan didn’t last for too long. I blogged about my progress only once.

Then what happened??
I reached Week 3 of the Couch to 5K Programme. It was really rewarding, I liked it! I also went running a few times at the small park near my home, for the first time and it was amazing! I made a point of continuing regularly.
I must admit, I was not enjoying the music of the NHS Programme. What I did to solve this is that I listened to the core training session once a week (instead of three times) and then I would listen to my own music trying to follow the same pattern of pauses, breaks, duration, speed. Much better, for me!

Anyway…the truth is, for once, I didn’t give up due to laziness. At first, I had no time because I started a full-time Master which feels like it’s taking up 24 hours a day 7 days a week. It is really draining me. I find myself in lectures all day long, and then studying until late at night very often. I guess because of tiredness or season change or low immune defences …I don’t really know, I just entered into a spiral of flu, cold, and now a bad ear infection with high fever: not the best condition to run! Now, as I am almost over a long month of being unwell, I am hoping to get back to being healthy again by the end of the week and I’m really looking forward to resuming my running programme which was making me feel so fit and happy!

Happy Spring to everyone! Here some trees are absolutely gorgeous! 🙂

I know a few of my readers have started the Couch to 5K Programme after having read my posts on running.

How is it going? What do you think of it? Please comment below: I’d love to hear all about it!

3 thoughts on “What Happened to Running?

  1. Get well soon…. sometimes wisdom lies in giving up than holding on…Funny, even I have decided to run a half-marathon this year. A bit nervous as I am not a runner, I am an active/outdoorsy person, but not a runner. In addition to that, I am vegetarian, so I get a bit paranoid every time I think about 13.1 miles. But starting April 1st, I *hope* to start what I think will be a successful training. I should prolly look into the ones I sign up for. Anyhoo, you don’t have to give up your resolution, just push it to the back burner for now and when you’re ready, fire it up on full flame 😉

  2. Pingback: “Mens Sana in Corpore Sano” | Little Explorer's Blog

Leave a Reply

